Service Schedule

 

DAYS PROGRAMMES
Sunday 6th January Epiphany Day: All Hangings removed
Sunday 7th – Sunday 14th January Universal Week of Prayers
Sunday 7th – Friday 19th January 14th Days Fasting and Prayers
Tuesday 9th January One-Day Retreat/Meeting for Cathedral Staff 9am
Tuesday 9th January Cathedral Committee Meeting 6:30pm
Wednesday 10th January Victory Hour Resumes 7:30am
Friday 19th January Battle Night Season(2) 9pm
Sunday21st January Knights’ Family Day- Diocesan 10am
Monday 22nd January Cathedral Committee Election Primaries begins
Monday 22nd –Friday 26th Clergy School
Tuesday 23rd January 2018 Diocesan Women Planning Comm.
Sunday 28th January Declaration of Blessing Sunday
Wednesday 31st January Province on the Niger Council Awka/Episcopal
Thursday 1st February Province on the Niger Council Awka/General Council
Saturday 3rd February Rehearsal for Collation of Canons & Archdeacons 4pm
Sunday 4th February Collation of Canons & Archdeacons 10am
Tuesday 6th February Elders Fellowship 10am
Sunday 11th February Covenant Sunday
Tuesday 13th February Cathedral Committee Election
Wednesday 14th February Ash Wednesday
Friday 16th February Cathedral Youth Convention/Valentine Evening 4pm
Saturday 17th February Children Service Workers’ Retreat & Meeting with Sub-Dean 10am
Sunday 18th February Cathedral Youth Convention/Valentine Sunday 2pm (Auditorium)
Tuesday20th February Clergy Workshop 10am
Tuesday 20th February Sub-Dean meets with Welfare Committee 5pm
Wednesday 21st February Sub-Dean meets with Sides Persons 5pm
Friday 23rd February Sub-Dean meets with Youth Executives 5pm
Sunday 25th February St. Mathias Day (Church of Nigeria Support)
Sunday 25th February Sub-Dean meets with group leaders Homage preparation
Tuesday 6th March Fellowship for aged 10am
Saturday 10th March Anglican Students Association ASA Convention
Sunday 11th March Mothering Sunday
Tuesday March 20th Clergy Workshop
Sunday 25th March Palm Sunday
Mon. 26th – Thurs. 29th March Holy Week Retreat/Communion 5pm each day
Friday 30th March Good Friday Service 6am -12noon
Sunday 1st April Easter Sunday
Tuesday 3rd April Elders Fellowship 10am
Friday 6th April Believers’ Night of Victory 9pm
Sunday 8th April Gideonites Award
Fri. 13th – Sun. 15th April Urban Archdeaconry/Cathedral Women Conference
Wednesday 25th April Cathedral Homage presentation 5pm
Sunday 29th April Cathedral Homage Support
Tuesday 1st May Elders Fellowship 10am
Sunday 6th May Diocesan Homage Sunday
Friday 11th May Confirmation Class/Admission Examination
Saturday 12th May Anglican Teachers Association Service /Activities
Thursday 10th May Finance Board
Thursday 17th May Diocesan Board
Saturday 19th May Confirmation/Admission Rehearsal
Sunday 20th May Confirmation/Admission/Pentecost
Sunday 26th May Ordination Rehearsal 4pm
Sunday 27th May Ordination of Priests @ Cathedral
Saturday 2nd June Ordination Rehearsal @ Basilica 4pm
Sunday 3rd June Ordination of Deacons @ Basilica 10am
Thursday 7th – Sunday 10th June Diocesan Synod @ Alor
Sunday 17th – 22nd June GAFCON
Friday 29th June Believers’ Night of Victory
Tuesday 3rd July Elders Fellowship
Thursday 5th – Sunday 8th July Diocesan Women Conference @ Cathedral
Sunday 22nd – Thursday 26th July Season of Fruitfulness
Friday 27th July C.M.S Anniversary
Tuesday 7th August Elders Fellowship
Tuesday 4th September Elders Fellowship
Sunday 9th September Children Harvest
Tuesday 2nd October Elders Fellowship
Friday 4th October Believers Night of Victory 9pm
Thursday 1st November All Saints’ Day/Friends of Cathedral Fellowship 9am
Saturday 3rd November Anambra Prayer Rally
Sunday 4th November Cathedral Choir Day
Tuesday 6th November Elders Fellowship
Sunday 11th November Cathedral General Harvest
Thurs. 29th Nov. – Sun. 2nd Dec. Fresh Manna Conference
Sunday 2nd December Fresh Manna Sunday
Tuesday 4th December Elders Fellowship
Wednesday 5th December Finance Board 10am
Thursday 6th December Location Board 10am
Friday 7th December Diocesan Board 10am
Sunday 9th December Cathedral Sports Day
Friday 14th December Believers Night of Victory 9pm
Saturday 15th December Diocesan Clergy/Church Workers Get-Together
Sunday 16th December Cathedral Carol and Nine Lessons 7am
Tuesday 25th December Christmas day
Sunday 30th December Last Sunday of the Year 2018
Monday 31st December Cross-Over Night 10pm
Tuesday 1st January 2019 New Year Day 2019
 

NOTE: The above stated dates are fixed but could be subject to changes accordimg to dire needs. We may fix other programmes within the course of the year. You will be notified and be required to make necessary adjustments.

 

This Year’s theme is ‘Great Grace’ (acts 4:33). We hope to pursue this theme in our programmes and activities. It will be theme for retreats, seminars, sermons and discussions throughout the year. Leaders of groups and organizations are also encouraged to teach and discuss this theme in their meetings and programmes.

We hope that the Lord will use us to achieve great things for His Kingdom in this year 2018.

 

To God be the glory.

 

Thanks

Your Sub-Dean and friend

Ven. Obiora Uzochukwu

 

 

EVENSONG SCHEDULE FOR 2018

DATE SEASON ACTIVITY GROUP
January 28 Septuagesima Specially Arranged Men’s Group1
February 4 Sexagesima Collation of Canons Free
February 11 Quinquagesima Specially Arranged Divine Love
February18 Lent 1 Specially Arranged Cathedral Youth Convention/Valentine Evening
February 25 Lent 2 Specially Arranged Men’s Group 2
March 4 Lent 3 Specially Arranged Teachers
March 11 Lent 4 Mothering Sunday Free
March 18 Lent 5 Specially Arranged Favoured Women
March 25 Palm Sunday Palm Sunday Boys’ Brigade
April 1 Easter Day Easter Sunday Free
April 8 Easter 1 Specially Arranged AYF
April 15 Easter 2 Cathedral Women Conference Free
April 22 Easter 3 Specially Arranged Men’s Group 3
April 29 Easter 4 Bible Sunday Gracious Women
May 6 Easter 5 Diocesan Homage (Rogation Sunday) Free
May 13 Sunday after Ascension Specially Arranged Professional Meeting
May 20 Pentecost Sunday Confirmation Free
May 27 Trinity Sunday Priestly Ordination @ Cathedral Free
June 3 Trinity 1 Dioaconate Ordination @ Basilica Free
June 10 Trinity 2 Synod Sunday Free
June 17 Trinity 3 Fathers Sunday/GAFCON Free
June 24 Trinity 4 Specially Arranged Men’s Group 4
July 1 Trinity 5 Specially Arranged Joyful Women
July 8 Trinity 6 Diocesan Women Conference Free
July 15 Trinity 7 Specially Arranged Men’s Group 5
July 22 Trinity 8 G. G. Sunday Season of Fruitfulness
July 29 Trinity 9 Specially Arranged Noble Women
August 5 Trinity 10 Specially Arranged Girls’ Brigade
August 12 Trinity 11 Laity Sunday Medical/Health Service
August 19 Trinity 12 Specially Arranged Men’s Group 6
August 26 Trinity 13 Specially Arranged A.B.F
September 2 Trinity 14 Specially Arranged Overcomer Women
September 9 Trinity 15 Children Harvest Free
Sept. 16 Trinity 16 Specially Arranged Singles’ Fellowship
Sept. 23 Trinity 17 Specially Arranged Professional Group Meeting
Sept. 3o Trinity 18 Mothers’ Union Sunday Men’s Group 7
October 7 Trinity 19 Specially Arranged EFAC
October 14 Trinity 20 Specially Arranged Accountants/Bankers/Managers
October 21 Trinity 21 ASM Sunday Precious Women
October 28 Trinity 22 Specially Arranged Choir Evensong/Igbo
November 4 Trinity 23 Specially Arranged Men’s Group 8
Nov. 11 Trinity 24 General Harvest Free
Nov. 18 Second Sunday before Advent Specially Arranged Rubby Women
Nov. 25 Sunday before Advent Specially Arranged Victorious Women
December 2 Advent Sunday Fresh Manna Free
December 9 Advent 2 Cathedral Sports Day Free
Dec. 16 Advent 3 Christmas Carols/Feast Free
Dec. 23 Advent 4 Christmas Eve Free
Dec. 30 Christmas 1 Free Free

 

_____________________

Ven. Obiora Uzochukwu

Sub-Dean